Real Bride Blogger Jessica: Seafoam, Celedon, and Mint Oh My!

Hi, I’m Jessica and I’m a people pleaser. Finding bridesmaid dresses, aka, one of the most dreaded tasks for a bride like myself, almost lead me to a full on wedding meltdown. Lucky for me, I have such amazing bridesmaids, that as soon as I started to panic they stepped in and reassured me that I should be focusing on what I want, and told me to pick the outfits I had always envisioned for the wedding. My girls are so accommodating and flexible, they definitely turned this daunting search into a joyous one.  I would love to share how my bridal party came about being out-fitted in this post!

I knew from the beginning I wanted my girls to wear floor-length, flowing bridesmaid dresses to compliment my lace gown; that was the starting point. I also wanted the dresses to match the beachy vibe of the wedding. Nothing too fussy, just effortless chic. Long & airy dresses to capture the perfect balance of casual, yet put-together for our fall wedding night at the beach.

{Via Peppermint Bliss & People }

I played around with putting all the girls in the same dress, but ultimately my heart was set on the mismatched look. Browsing through Pinterest, I was able to find pictures of my vision. Different dresses but overall cohesiveness was the final choice. I think the key to the mismatched dresses is to make sure they have a unifying element such as the same fabric, color, or shape. The dresses really need to look interrelated and not competing to work together, in my opinion.

{via Ruffled & Annette Gomez }

I also love that the mismatched look means each girl is able to pick out her own dress that matches her body type and personal style. Let’s be honest it’s hard to find a dress that looks good on everyone. Plus, bridesmaid dresses can be expensive, so why not let your besties pick something they want? I really felt it was important that my girls each selected something they loved- because I really want them to feel beautiful and special on the Big Day. Honestly, I can’t stress how important it is to have happy bridesmaids that adore their dresses- I want my girls to feel great and be dancing the night away, not hiding from embarrassment in the corner!

{via Swell. ASOS. Nordstrom}

The dresses above were all contenders. Then, I discovered that Dessy offers a huge selection of bridesmaid dresses in every style and shade under the rainbow. At first I thought of doing the girls in different shades for an ombre effect. We played around with the  Spa, Celadon, and Meadow colors. Since there are only three girls, we decided to stick with one shade to make it more consistent. We chose Meadow, as the perfect shade of blue/green that will also go great with the guys’ grey suits.

I told my girls to pick any Dessy or After Six dress they liked in Meadow in a long chiffon style. I think the combo they came up with looks amazing, see the winning dresses above. All the dresses go together but each girl’s style will be able to shine. See Kate’s inspiration board below for how she’s envisioning the look coming together. I can’t wait for us all to get dressed up together on the Big Day. We are going to be one sexy bridal party!

Click board above to see larger! {necklace.dress. nails. hair. shoes}

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. so beautiful. just what i was looking for. having the same problem with wanting to have lots of different colors, with 9 maids im struggling to find 9 colors that i like that will go together. any advice?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

